A divorce generally begins in California when one party files a divorce petition in the court. There is a filing fee, but if one cannot afford it, one can apply for a waiver. California is a no-fault state, which means one does not have to prove your spouse did anything wrong. You can get a divorce even if your spouse does not want one. There are some steps you must take and … [Read more...] about What Are the Requirements For A Divorce in California?
When divorcing couples are discussing spousal support in California, they need to be aware of the tax implications of their divorce. Federal laws enacted by congress and enforced by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) are different than laws enforced by the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Spousal Support and Taxes IRS rules. Under federal law, a person paying spousal support may … [Read more...] about Tax Issues in a California Divorce
It depends. Annoying answer but true! In California, family law attorneys and mediators bill clients hourly rates ranging from $300 - $800 per hour, depending on the professional’s years of experience, location and reputation in the community. In my opinion, the cost of a divorce will vary depending on the following variables: The process option chosen;The professionals … [Read more...] about How Much Does a Divorce Cost in California?